Friday, October 24, 2008

GrooveSource Cycle 129

GrooveSource Cycle 129
Pre-Release Date 10/28/2008
General Live Date Week of 11/18/2008

MAU5LTD001 – Deadmau5 “Ghosts N Stuff” Mau5trap – ELECTRO HOUSE

This is a very special DIGITAL ONLY release from the mighty Deadmau5. A bit of a treat, fresh out of the lab just in time for Halloween.

Here’s the story:
Basically, Pete Tong asked Deadmau5 to write a track while on his Beatport sponsored tour and “Ghosts N Stuff” is the result! It's been on Pete's show two weeks running, Deadmau5 opened with it at the essential mix live @ The Warehouse Project Manchester and Calvin Harris used it in his forthcoming Essential Mix which airs this week. The track is being tied in with a huge gig deadmau5 has in LA for Halloween for which he is also making a special Halloween head and this track is going to be the 'theme'. Feedback for the track has been huge and the fact that only Pete Tong has it has made the buzz even greater. Other marketing AnD Press are doing is alongside Alex Greenberg @ MSO PR & Hard Events and AnD Press are also doing E-Shots to the deadmau5 database, Ibiza Voice database and running banner ads.


*Receiving support from DJs: Pete Tong, Erick Morillo, Laurent Garnier, Sasha, Hernan Cattaneo, Laidback Luke, ATFC, Redanka, Tom Findlay (Groove Armada), Alex Costa, Rooster & Peralta, Noir, Damian Wilson (CR2 Records), Tony Senghore, Orde Meikle (Slam), Paul Harris, Kenneth Thomas, Chris Fortier, Stu Hirst, Greg Churchill

*Receiving support from Radio: BBC Radio 1 (UK), Raw FM, Kiss FM (UK), Fresh FM (AUS), XM Satellite (USA), Proton Radio (UK), COAST FM (Spain), Radio M2o (Italy)

Hernan Cattaneo – “Good Stuff”
Laidback Luke – “What a quality EP! Sounds like a big one, very good stuff!”
Orde Meikle (Slam) – “love the pelle buys mix - fucking excellent”
Tom Findlay (Groove Armada) – “the dimitri/like mike rmx sounds great. Love the pelle buys remix! t.”
Kenneth Thomas – “Digging the Original. GROSS!”
ATFC – “Really nice beats”
Alex Costa – “Adam Shaw rmx is for me ... Superb Sound !!!”

Following the amazing success of their debut track 'After Dark' that received global support from Sasha, Digweed, Cattaneo, Groove Armada, Ramirez and Lawler amongst others, M.O.D.E return with the infectious track 'LOST' on their M.O.D.E. imprint. The original is a bumpy techy chugger that rolls along with a driving bass line incorporating catchy bleeps, glitches and riffs. The clever breakdown builds to launch the second half of the track in great fashion, and the track has already been tested on floors around the world to huge response. And so onto the remixes and first up is Deadmau5 favourite Adam Shaw. Fresh from his recent EP on Mau5trap, Adam turns in a funky techno edged workout that glides along effortlessly. A pulsing bass line and tight percussion rip through the mix, whilst Adam retains the feel for the original with clever use of the core elements. This is set to be huge. Next up comes Berlin based Pelle Buys with a dark trippy minimal workout for those crazy 7am moments. Pelle has had recent success with releases on John Digweed's Transitions series, and this nod to the twisted side of house isn't for the faint hearted. A bubbling groove never lets up all the way though the track, and eerie noises and effects keep this one in the realms of super deep house. Last but by no means least, is the Dimitri Vegas and Like Mike Remix. This superb piece of uber cool electro shows why these two new producers are being tipped by the industry as ones to watch. A chunky bass line and superb synths power along with no let up, and this is sure to be a favorite in many sets for weeks to come.

HEJ00B – Punisher (Detroit) & John Overfiend “Twisting Trees” Hej Records – Minimal
*Receiving support from: Danny Tenaglia, Laurent Garnier, Adam Beyer, Dubfire, John Selway, Josh Wink, Joel Mull, Chris Liebing, Par Grindvik, Slam, Alexi Delano, Joachim, DJ Misjah, Noah Levine (XLR8R, Urb), Chris Simmonds, Chris Udoh, Aubrey, Chris Fortier

Danny Tenaglia – “4 out of 5”
Dubfire – “5 out of 5”
Joachim – “yep will play, support. 5 out of 5”
Chris Fortier – “this is great, i like all the mixes. i played the last john overfiend record a ton. 5 out of 5”

The HEJ Pioneers deliver the second installment of a digital only series, featuring four tracks from label owners PUNISHER (Michelle Herrmann) and JOHN OVERFIEND. PUNISHER begins with "Undertow", a track that is constantly in motion. Acid sounds shift and pivot through the shuffled beats that are washed over by droning voice samples and fluttering pitched bongos. Michelle's "Dimb" is stripped down with minimal tribal clicks and claps that merge into a simple yet lush infectious melody. The steaming hiss and ambient keys build in the breakdowns before the sassy bass drops. JOHN OVERFIEND takes you on a journey with "Man From Space" infused with haunting effected vocals stretched and delayed in every direction. Swanky analog blips and pumping synth bass is unleashed as the track builds into a frenzy of movement. John's next gem, "Call That One Blue" has a unique feel with layered otherworldly synth tones and twisted funky bass. The chopped up staggered primal vocal snippets, and driving swirled percussion drop hard after the intense breaks, highlighted with a tripped out intro and outro perfect for mixing. With mastering by Tim Xavier, the sound quality speaks for itself. Hej receives regular support from Adam Beyer, Joel Mull, Par Grindvik, Adultnapper, Deetron, Camea, Laurent Garnier, Alexi Delano, Tim Xavier and other world class DJ's .

HEJ RECORDS : Making a mark in the evolution of musical energy

MR001 – Toby Dreher “Sommertag Im Neissetal EP” Mecha Recordings – TECHNO/MINIMAL

*Receiving support from: Danny Tenaglia, Laurent Garnier, Dave Clarke, Dubfire & Sharam, Danny Howells, Josh Wink, Oscar G. (Murk), Chris Lake, Doc Martin, John Selway, Slam, Alexi Delano, Dimitri from Paris, Jori Hulkkonen, Jamie Anderson, Donald Glaude, DJ Misjah, Chris Simmonds, Angel Alanis, DJ Times, XLR8R

Danny Howells – “thanks! 4 out of 5”
Dubfire – “5 out of 5”
Slam – “very cool. 5 out of 5”
Oscar G. (Murk) – “4 out of 5”

The first release from a new label with huge potential. Deep and sensuous with layers upon layers of unique and interesting sounds - this techy stormer reveals its genius upon careful review and multiple plays but will still rock the dancefloor on day one.

WMAC20 – SoulDeep Collective “Release Me - Remixes” Wallshaker Music – HOUSE
*Receiving support from: Danny Tenaglia, Laurent Garnier, Mark Farina, Danny Rampling, Charles Webster, Davidson Ospina, Honey Dijon, Ibiza Global Radio, DJ Misjah, Craig Hamilton, Chris Simmonds, Chris Udoh, David Hollands,

Laurent Garnier – “lovely deepness will play a lot. 4 out of 5”
Mark Farina – “4 out of 5”
Chris Udoh – “5 out of 5”
Ibiza Global Radio – “Full Support. 4 out of 5”

Australian House group, "SoulDeep Collective" presents their newest single, "Release Me," reworked and remixed by legendary Detroit producer Aaron-Carl, and a special offering by Spain's newest tastemaker, Daniel Kyo.

Also this week:
4TRK015 - Audio Injection - Crate Saver EP - 4 Track Records
DCREC021 - Marcsoul - A Personal Work - DeepClass Records
DFDIGI016 - Paul Anthony & ZXX – Jiberish - Dirty Fabric Digital
IM028 - Submerge 101 - 2012 EP - Impact Mechanics
KRD022 - Vadim Lankov - Lloyd Kills Maf E.P. - Konnekt Records
NLC042 - Leroy Burgess - Don't Spoil It – Nite Life Collective
NMW012 - Mikel Curcio - In Your Head featuring Daniella – Noir Music
PMW019 - Terrence Parker - Tribute EP - Parker MusicWorks
POPPOP013 - Adam Sharpe - Hacksaw EP - Pop Pop
PP012 - Dee Green - Essential Buzzin' – Prosthetic Pressings
S027 - Various Artists - The Source Volume 27 - The Source
SEEKD018 – Modfunk - Cut Your Soul - Seek Records

No comments: